Studying Chinese Medicine

Hi,

Does anyone have any experience of, or can point me to any information about studying Chinese Medicine in Taiwan?

Many Thanks

It’s certainly possible. I have heard of a few of people who were doing it or have done it. I imagine there are some reputable, useful courses around as well as quite probably some dodgy ones.

Sorry I can’t be more specific or helpful.

The China Medical University Hospital in Taichung offers various courses: Chinese medicine, acupressure, tui-na etc.

FYI, the CMU is the largest Chinese medicine hospital in Taiwan and it is connected to the largest western medicine hospital in central Taiwan.
They have a groovy new department within the Chinese department: Integrated Chinese and Western Medicine. They do research on ICWM and doctors there are fully qualified in both disciplines.

Spack’s on the money.

I studied Chinese medicine in Australia and China for four years and was hoping for some post-grad stuff at the place in Taichung. Popped in and talked to them. They have the same entry requirements as for any other university and I simply didn’t have the time.

Most Chinese medical folks here reckon the mainland is the place to study Chinese medicine, which surprises me.

But if you wanted to start getting your head around the ideas . . . Medicine in China: A History of Ideas is a great read.

HG

Apparently in Taiwan, Chinese medicine is ‘purer’ becuas practitioners are not allowed to mix it with western medicine. That means a Chiense medicine doctor, can nto prescribe Western medicine. In China the two schools are allowed to mix. Both approaches clearly have some advantages and disadvantages.

I once went to the clinic opposite the Taipower building, The guy there had at least two foreign ‘interns’.

Brian

Brian - what are you talking about?
Did you read my post about the INTEGRATED Chinese and Western Medicine Department at the China Medical University Hospital?