Studying Classical Chinese in Taipei

Hello All,

I’m currently a student at George Washington University double majoring in E. Asian Studies and Chinese Language and Literature. I spent a year as an exchange student in Taipei before going to college, and for various reasons I took two semesters of intro to Classical Chinese (wenyan wen) my freshman year. Unfortunately, the class is generally taken by college seniors, and so there is only one higher level classical class that is only taught in the spring semester, and due to scheduling conflics with my internship this semester, I was unable to take it. Thankfully, I was lucky enough to get the opportunity to have 1 on 1 sessions with my Classical Chinese professor, who is absolutely brilliant. I’ll be finishing up my second semester of these sessions in a few weeks. I’ve really taken a liking to Classical Chinese, and I will be returning to Taipei this summer and fall, and I’m looking for a way to continue my studies. I don’t think most of the classes offered at language centers will be suitable since I’ve already studied the subject matter for two years now, and I was looking into doing something similar to a 1 on 1 with a Taiwanese professor if possible.

Does anyone know of any higher-level classical Chinese classes offered in Taipei and/or a professor or scholar I could contact?

Thanks!

You should be able to study classical literary Chinese at Shida. There are always Korean and Japanese students studying classical Chinese there to prepare for grad school. I think you will find the level sufficent. If 唐九重 (sp.) is still there take his class.