Taipei or Taichung?

Taipei or Taichung?

• Taipei
  • Taichung
  • Yo’re a fool, they both suck

0 voters

Hi everyone,

So, I’m a newbie, coming to Taiwan in November to teach. I need to tell the school where I want to be pretty soon though. I’ve narrowed it down to Taipei or Taichung. I want to be close enough to the city to have a decent nightlife, go to some gigs, the movies etc, but also be able to get out every now and then into the countryside. Is there an ‘alternative’ scene in either of the cities?

So, which would you go for?

If you tell us where in those cities you’d be teaching, it will help us give informed answers. Taipei especially has many different districts ranging from hellish to very nice.
Should you choose Taichung, be prepared to ride a scooter or you’ll have problems getting about.

Alternative to what, English teaching? Not in Taichung, but Taipei has an “ex-teacher editor scene”. However, they are a pretty bitter crowd, resentful of kindy teachers who earn more and get more pussy.

[quote]
but Taipei has an “ex-teacher editor scene”. However, they are a pretty bitter crowd, resentful of kindy teachers who earn more and get more pussy.[/quote]

Those bahstards. Keep a keen eye peeled for those spiteful fiends. :astonished:
They are, however, reknowned for their Achilles’ heel(s): pretty girls, free booze, and the chance to bitch about someone who’s doing what they once did. :slight_smile:

Head them off at the pass, and you’ll blend in fine. :grandpa:

Well, I don’t get any say at which branch, just the city. But I figure I don’t have to live in the same district as the branch!

And sorry, should have been more descriptive regarding the ‘alternative’ scence - I mean does one city have significantly more of a ‘rock’ (i’m loathe to call it that, I don’t mean big hairy men spinning their heads, more screamy punk/emo/hardcore etc.) scene that the other. If there’s any at all!!