Taiwan Mobile Prepaid - NT180 a month for 1GB

Hello everyone, I have to let you know that there is a very cheap option for using data if you have a TW Mobile prepaid sim card (台灣大哥大預付卡). If you already have a phone and the sim card, I learnt the following by going to a myfone TW Mobile store:

-You can buy a 1Gb data pack valid for 30 days for NT180 only at the myfone store.

• You do have to add it separately to the credit you already have on your phone and it cannot be deducted from any remaining credit.
  • You have to go in the store and buy the 1gb data. Once your 30 days are over, you have to go inside any myfone store and buy another 1gb data pack
  • This is true as of July 2013 and I dont know if Taiwan Mobile will keep this going and for how long.

I do apologise as I am new to Taiwan so I dont know all the facts yet. I just know I had to share this considering the amount of tourists, students and expats living here paying astronomical fees for data. Most of us wouldnt use over 1gb of data if you just use your phone for facebook, email, line, whatsapp and occasional skype. If you want to find out more, the actual pack is called “計量型1Gb”. I would also like to know if other people are on this deal. I think its better value than any of the unlimited data packs that last for a few days considering many of us have access to wifi too.

I can comfirm what the OP wrote.

This may be indeed a very good deal for people who can’t get/aren’t interested (in) a 2 year contract-deal.
You can buy the package (prepaid SIM and 1 month 1GB) for 500 NT$
(SIM itself is 345 NT$, including 345 NT$ airtime and the 1GB thus is 155 NT$ instead of 180NT$)

After 6 months you must add 300 NT$ new airtime, otherwise your SIM will be deactivated.

Doing the math, that means for roughly 230 NT$ you have your own number and can surf the internet. However, I have
no idea what might happen if you get over your monthly 1GB (well, after all it is still prepaid rather postpaid)