Taiwan Taxes

Anyone know a tax agent in Taiwan for Taiwan Tax? How much do they typically charge?
This is my first time doing taxes in Taiwan and I want to see if I can save on taxes.

Do you speak Chinese? How complicated are your taxes?

If you speak Chinese well enough to understand basic business vocabulary, you can get free assistance at one of the tax centers. That was my first experience filing taxes in Taiwan. They’ll help you with all applicable deductions… unless your taxes are super complicated.

Do you own property?

1 Like

My wife speaks chinese, thats good to know. Tax centers are where you pay taxes right? I don’t own any property.

I’m guessing your taxes are pretty simple and straightforward. Yes, just go to the places where you’d normally go to pay taxes. I can’t remember which one I went to… but they were very helpful. Make sure to bring all the required paperwork with you.

Also, note that if you get free tax help, YOU are responsible for maximizing your deductions. Read this forum carefully to make sure that you aren’t missing out on deducting rent, money sent to your parents, etc. If you have all the paperwork with you when you go to file, they’ll help you without charging anything.

Note, however, that they won’t sit down with you and go through a list of potential deductions you might be eligible for. I don’t know your situation, but I doubt that’s you. But if that is you, that’s the only case where you’d need to hire help.

1 Like

Taxes in Taiwan are quite simple for ARC holders. However, it might be different for you because…

I don’t know what the situation is if you are filing jointly or separately. Do some searches on the forum to see if filing is different if you’re married.

There’s an online software that you can download (for free) and do your taxes on there. It’s quite simple if you have all your paperwork, just a bit tedious because the software seems like it hasn’t been updated for the past 20 years.