Taiwanese Indigenous People - Color Photos from the Japanese Era

I was on Youtube and happened to stumble across this video with a slide show of Japanese era color pictures of various Taiwanese indigenous peoples.

youtube.com/watch?v=seClSNjnLdU

Sorry to not embed the link/video directly into this post, but the picture that shows up in the youtube player is a little NSFW (shows a topless woman) and I have an embarrassing prudishness at times.

Gotta say the color photos from the era really give a modern feel to a time that feels long ago in so many ways when you just see it in B&W.

2.04 = quite awesome.

And in the whole vid, not a single smartphone was to be had. How boring life must have been back then without Candy Crush :uhhuh:.

some photo’s color seems like they are added by hand for the purpose of having a colored postcard. I think back in those days it’s a pretty common practise, I’ve seen many old postcards in Europe that does the same thing. However, it would mean for those photos the colors are probably not what they were originally.

part two of the video

youtube.com/watch?v=N2HNL52B4TQ

[quote=“Nuit”]2.04 = quite awesome.

And in the whole vid, not a single smartphone was to be had. How boring life must have been back then without Candy Crush :uhhuh:.[/quote]

but they had portable games throughout the pictures, it comes in the shape of a curvy crescent. The game I believe is called chop chop.

[quote=“Zhengzhou2010”]I was on Youtube and happened to stumble across this video with a slide show of Japanese era color pictures of various Taiwanese indigenous peoples.

Sorry to not embed the link/video directly into this post, but the picture that shows up in the youtube player is a little NSFW (shows a topless woman) and I have an embarrassing prudishness at times.

Gotta say the color photos from the era really give a modern feel to a time that feels long ago in so many ways when you just see it in B&W.[/quote]