Taiwanese law firm - hiring US attorney

Has anyone heard of Chen, Shyu & Punn law firm.

I saw their ad for US lawyer, and I’m thinking of applying to them. I wonder what’s the working conditions and partners’ attitude towards employees there. Any comments?

I assume that Mr. Tigerman would be the one to ask. He works in a law firm and is very familiar with the “legal environment” in Taiwan … (in very many respects) …

I have no personal knowledge of the firm, but a 2005 AsiaLaw publication states that in 2003 Chen, Shyuu & Pun merged with Tu & Amida Trust to form Tu Amida Trust, Chen, Shyuu & Pun, but with an unwieldy name like that I can see why they might prefer their old name.

My source states further that the firm has experience in distressed asset refinancing and setting up of trusts to use as leverage for financing in Taiwan; it also assists banks with credit guarantor issues relating to China; and it has been assisting its client, Core Pacific Yamaichi, with an ongoing shareholding and ownership dispute with Yuanta Core Pacific, a dispute involving 6 other Taiwan law firms and 4 HK law firms. In summary, it sounds like they handle lots of boring, but perhaps lucrative, banking and financial issues.

I haven’t seen them advertising in the TT, which seems a little odd to me – if I were looking to hire a US lawyer that’s where I’d advertise. Where did you see their ad?

I haven’t replied to this because there are way too many variables involved.

Yes, I know this firm and I know people who have worked there.

It depends primarily on your own expectations and hopes and interests, IMO, whether or not you will like this firm.

The people I know who have worked there liked it well enough initially, but later left because the work wasn’t what they wanted to do.

I have heard no horror stories regarding the management.

I work in another law firm just a stone’s throw from their offices.