Tax refund. When and how?

Hi, I’ve been teaching in Taiwan since October 2020 and I plan to stay for at least a year longer. So far, I’ve been taxed at a rate of 18%. Correct me if I’m wrong but I’ve heard that after 6 months (so after April) my tax will drop down to 5%. I’ve also heard that this difference (18% - 5%) can then be refunded.

What’s the refund procedure and is there a deadline?

Also what documents are needed?

Thanks.

You’ll get it back when you go to do your taxes in May.

2 Likes

no. It’s after 6 months for every year from January to December. So, the tax rate for your last year income is 18%. If you will be here for more that 6 months this year, 5 % on your whole income this year. The difference will be refunded next year May.

The tax rate drops if you’ve been in the country 183 days or more of each tax year which runs Jan.-Dec.

If your employer has withheld at a higher rate, eg. 18%, you will be refunded the difference when you file your tax return the following year.

(Edited to correct)

Thanks for the quick responses.

Ok, so it’s the first 6 months of EVERY year that are taxed at 18% then the last 6 are at 5%. Thanks for the clarification!

So if I actually checked my payslips properly from Oct to Dec 2020 they should be taxed at 5% not 18% right?

Another question. So in May of 2021 I will have to ‘do’ my taxes (for 2020), even though I’m employed? Just asking because where I’m from if you’re employed your employer and the tax agency will do everything for you automatically, refunds included.

it’s the first 6 months of your stay for every year. So, if you were here for more than 6 months in 2020, your tax rate is 5%, but if your employer didn’t know it and thought the October was your first month, 18% might have been deducted. It will be refunded the coming May.

Yes, you usually do it by yourself.