TCFL programmes in Taiwan

Hello!

I’m looking for information on TCFL programmes in Taiwan (not the master degrees but the shorter ones), and didn’t find any posts about that. Has anyone here taken any of those classes? If so, I’m interested in all kind of feedback.

Thank you very much! :slight_smile:

If you’re already a Chinese teacher I know NCKU runs workshops.

I’m a beginner in Chinese. :wink:

This is for my husband. He has just started teaching Chinese in Thailand, but has only a BA in Chinese. I’ll tell him to check NCKU though, they may have something for him.

Has anyone attended the 2 month-programme at Taida?

He’ll have to contact NCKU directly. Actually, I’m taking the longer programme at NCKU as part of my bachelor’s, let me dig up the teacher’s contact. I’ll PM you it.

Just about all the buxibans run their own “certificate” training classes from time to time. But, as they say, “it’s all the same banana”. Just restating the obvious (and often the ineffective). Buyer beware and check carefully if the certificate in question will have any value outside the particular buxiban that issued it, or in any particular situation or desired job.

I’m doing one of the government certified courses that’s supposed to prepare you for the government exam. There’s a lot more theory than I thought there would be.

What are the requirements to join one of those courses?

I’m a university student, it’s offered as a free course to all students at my university. I don’t think outsiders can take it, but you can always try and ask. You either need 12 credits or 14 credits to get the certificate, but the certificate doesn’t qualify you to teach; you have to pass the government exam for that.

There are quite a few places running courses for people who want to take the exam, I think you’d have to look at the regulating body’s website. There’s a lot of info on there :slight_smile:

The Association of Mandarin Teachers:
atcsl.org/