TCM discussion

If I drink alcohol to excess will liver injury follow, and will that make me angrier?

Traditional Chinese Medicine Health Promotion Speech and Demonstration

649f93ccadea4c5e0cfb138c4fb65d85--funny-memes-funny-shit

I drink alcohol too, although the Lancet says it’s not beneficial:
No level of alcohol consumption improves health
Open AccessPublished:August 23, 2018

Actually, alcohol is not a bad thing. In fact, alcohol is called “藥王” , which means the king of all medicine in ancient times.

There’s only one rule in drinking that I followed:

Drink only when you are happy.

Sadly I’m always happy.

Chinese medicine is great! and so are snake-oil enemas. 5000 years of culture, right up the kiester!

When I was a medical college freshman learning TCM, I had exactly the same feeling as you.

However, I choose to distinguish those core essence that does benefit our patients from those that make no sense nowadays. When learning Chinese medicine, it is very important to go back to the time when these strange formula was created so that you would understand why our ancestor would use such a strange thing to treat those ailments.

One thing I tried to remind myself is : Don’t ever judge something before you get to see the whole picture of it. I choose not to be trapped in those strange things that I find hard to believe but to focus more on the TCM theories that is useful. I believe doctors have to be very practical. There are millions of formulas recorded in TCM classics, why spend time arguing those ingredients that don’t make sense to me after learning the core theories of TCM?

There are peer-reviewed studies on relieving pain.

I think the main difference between TCM and conventional western medicine is the questions they ask. “Does it work?” as opposed to “How does it work?”.

The fact that we don’t know how much of conventional medicine works anyway tends to be ignored.

Having said that, acupuncture is a hard sell.