Teaching English Requirements

Hi everyone,

If i have an undergrad degree (mine just happens to be in economics), plus a TOSEL certificate, what is the likely hood i can find a job as an English teacher in Taiwan? Are there opportunities in all of the main cities (Taipei, Taichung, Kaohsiung, Tainan…) ?

Also, it might be worth mentioning I’ll have an APRC through marriage. In addition to this, i hold an Australian passport.

I think yes. Australian passport, undergrad degree, and TOSEL cert should be enough to get an English teaching job.

The legal requirement is cleared by an ARC you will get through marriage with a Taiwanese citizen. You need 5 years on ARC before you can get APRC.

If you don’t have any past criminal convictions in your background, you should be able to get an entry-level cram school job.

1 Like

I was forgetting about the criminal background check. If you want a job at a buxiban, you need the document regardless of your nationality, iirc.

I do not have a criminal record.

Also, what would the average monthly salary be for teaching in a cram school? Is the average monthly salary enough to live a comfortable life from your knowledge or in your experience? (i do not have any children).

I’m not sure what the average is. I make about 65k NTD a month at my Uni, and I’ve heard cramschool salaries are around the same. My wife is also a teacher. We have a daughter and we do okay with rent and other expenses in Kaohsiung. Without a child, I think you’ll be fine. Just don’t expect a western salary. Cost of living is cheaper, but wages here are stagnant.

Around NT$65,000 is pretty standard for a fresh teacher, but you can make a lot more if you put in overtime. With your background (Australian national, degree, APRC, etc.), not only should it be easy for you to land a teaching job, but you should also be in a position where you can be picky and only go for jobs that have the option of doing over-time (if you want it).