Teaching Indigenous Students in Taiwan vs Teaching Indigenous Students in Canada

Throughout my thirteen and a half years of being a teacher, I have only spent 2 years teaching in Canada. Both these years I worked in Canada were for an Indigenous school board on an Indigenous reservation. My experience working there was a pretty tough one because I dealt with a lot of kids who had a lot of issues. Some of them are born brain damaged, some of them are not identified with any problems but have a lack of discipline to the point of being extremely disrespectful. It was so bad that I gave the worst behaving students the lowest grades. Several of them come from homes where there is a lot of alcohol abuse, several of them come from homes in which parents are involved in buying and selling drugs, and some come from homes where there is a lot of bad parenting because some of these kids were born to mothers who were as young as 15, and did not have the proper maturity to be parents. But I cannot generalize on that because I know one young woman there who worked as an Educational Assistant who has three children, the oldest being 10, and she is 25. I had one student in first grade who told me that her father is incarcerated, and two girls who are now in grade 3 who never knew their father because he was deported to Trinidad and Tobago. All these various problems that several of these kids on the reserve have are just so immense that it made my job hard. That particular community was a very hard place to work. Some Indigenous reservations may be easier to work in, but there are others that are worse than where I used to work.