Teaching on online platforms. How easy is it?

I work in marketing, but have a savings goal I want to reach by August and am looking to make use of my spare time in the evenings by teaching on one of those online platforms to make some extra cash.

I am fluent in Chinese, and many many years ago did teach, so I’m not totally inexperienced. I’m a native English speaker from the UK btw.

Is it actually easy to find students on those platforms? I’d imagine competition is fierce.

What could I expect in terms of hourly pay?

Are there any requirements to sign up in terms of education or licenses? I don’t have TEFL or anything like that.

Focus on business English. Likely to be more successful and interesting,

2 Likes

Competition is fierce. The China market for kids WAS huge, esp during the pandemic.

Then good ol Xi took the whole tutoring industry behind the barn and shxx most of it in the head. Since then tons of tutors competing for a much smaller pie. Especially also the last year of the pandemic, too many people willing to teach online for cheap, lowered wages to around $7/hour plus various bonuses. There are jobs with more $ but few, far between and with few hours available. Best of luck!

1 Like

They should do that in Taiwan too.

As if the wealthy elites of China aren’t still getting premium English (and French and Latin) tutoring for their children.

The only thing that policy did was make it illegal for the foreigners to make a living in China/ illegal for average Chinese to get extra education for their average children. But you can bet people with the means to do so know the law doesn’t apply to them. The same would happen in TW (well, it already does — English kindergartens are illegal here, yet you see them actively advertising for them all over the place. Most parents of littles that I know don’t even know their child’s English kindy isn’t legal…)