Teaching Questions

I have taught in Taiwan a few years ago at a private kindergarten, so I have some specific experience teaching in Taiwan, but now that I’m back in the states I’m thinking about a long term career in Taiwan in a few years.

My husband is Taiwanese and we are back in America. Since teaching abroad I’ve now been in the US for two years and got my teaching license. My bachelors degree is in business, so I had to go through an ACP to get my license.

A few questions:

For public schools:

1. Will my bachelors degree and license be enough to get a position? I am having a hard time finding out too much information on public school requirements and salary (tealit only has buxiban type job postings when I check). The pay will be about the same that I got before I’m assuming (55k)? Any moving benefits or summer vacation?

2. I know Korea and some other countries really prefer young white teachers. I’ll probably be in my late 30s when we move back…will this be a problem?

For international schools:

I’m really interested in trying to make this happen in a few years with a masters degree.

1. If I get my masters degree online through a well known school in my state, will it hinder anything with being qualified? I’ve read somewhere on here Taiwan doesn’t accept online degrees but those seem to be referring to University of Phoenix and Devry. This would be one of the public universities in my state. I’m pregnant now and cannot see myself working full time and going to school on campus with a newborn. It looks like the online masters I’m looking at doesn’t have any references to online/on campus on its diploma. Also would this be a problem for a public school position (since I already have a regular bachelors?)

2. I did some research and found TAS pays really well but it seems impossible? Should I even try for a top tier international school? Might be too much stress with the in-person masters degree if it’s a 1% chance I’ll get hired anyway…