Teaching Requirements

So I am strongly considering moving to Taiwan so I can have a go at teaching. Having visited a few years back and fallen in love with the place it has always been in the back of my head that I’d like to return.

I have had some experience teaching children in the past (math tutor when I was younger) and I can probably track down the teachers whom I had worked under for references. My only problem is that my education level is that of a 3 year business diploma and NOT a bachelors degree. I plan on taking the TESOL course but I’m not sure if that will be enough.

Is this basically a deal breaker for me?

It’s not necessarily a deal breaker. I don’t know what a “business diploma” is, but the official rule here is that you can have either 1) a Bachelor’s Degree OR 2) an Associate’s Degree + TEFL Certificate. It seems like your diploma might fit into the second category, since an Associate’s Degree is only two year’s worth of study.

I was able to get a work permit, resident visa and ARC with an AA and a CELTA.

I think that might be it, but I have not heard an “associate degree” before (is it American?). Basically I did a 2 year community college program with an optional third year. Unfortunately all of the ads I’ve seen ask for bachelors only. Is that just employers trying to set a high bar or will it actually hinder me in finding work?

Yup, your schooling is the equivalent of an Associate’s degree in the States. FWIW, I have seen schools give people grief for not having a Bachelor’s.

Unless it’s changed, the rule is for you to get a work visa teaching English in a cram school, you need to have a passport from a list of English speaking countries and a bachelors degree in any field from a university that the Taiwanese government recognizes. To teach in an elementary, jr or sr high, your degree needs to be in education OR you need to be a certified teacher in your home country.