TECO-US: If you vote, you will be drafted!

It has come to my attention that various TECO’s in USA have been making it difficult for students or recent graduates to register to vote. First they would block entry until inspecting everything you have and then telling you that you will be drafted if you vote.

I didn’t really believe it at first until it also happened to me. I was at TECO NY earlier last week, and wanted to go to the 4th level to register to vote. They sent someone down to the first floor and he demanded to see if I have a Taiwan passport. I showed it to him and he tried to assure me that I would get drafted even though I’m a graduate student, have my taxes in line, etc.

I assured him that it was not the case, but he insisted. So I gave up and told him that, “If I have to get drafted just to vote, then SO BE IT, I just want the papers!”. He said that the draft would be difficult and its pretty cruel. I pointed out that I’m a pretty large guy, have handled assault rifles, I have plenty of free time, and that I’m practically looking forward to it. I ended by asking him again, if I could get my papers. So he just gave up and brought me to the right floor, but told me to wait for him as he came back. I knew he wouldn’t as the offices were closing, so I went to the right desks and they were no help either.

I finally asked a security guy whom was Hispanic, and he pointed me to a closed door office which turned out to be the office of the temporary OCAC Director whom was well acquainted with me. He not only got the forms for me instantly, he basically filled out the whole thing for me after sitting me down for tea.

That’s very interesting indeed.

Maybe you were in the PRC embassy by mistake? Just kidding.
Typical Taiwanese politico appointee dip wad. Probably thought you’d vote all KMT…:smiley: