The illegal ARC's

Ok, sooo… we all have all heard about the fake degrees you can get on the roads of bangkok and I have heard stories of people who have gotten ARC’s with these. But i have also heard stories of people who have tried and it doesn’t work. What’s the deal? I am an English Teacher who has taught in Taiwan for over a year before but never legally… Oh ya and for all of you who say "oh ya great all we need is another illegal english teacher trying to pay their way through asia, well seriously what the crap is the difference between a degree and no degree, does it help teach a 3 year old how to say I like apples… :loco:

Maybe not, but if it’s in a linguistic or education related field it might help to teach a 14 year old Taiwanese kid how to say “I like cake.” :sunglasses:

Then there’s that little thing called “fraud”. (I don’t mean teaching illegally, I mean getting an ARC with a fake degree.) The last lesson Taiwanese youth need is that the law is something you should circumvent when it doesn’t suit your purposes and you can get away with it. They already get that from native role models.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t believe having a degree in a non-teaching field will help you be a better teacher. And even having a degree in a teaching field doesn’t mean you can practically apply what you learned or that another person can’t figure out on the job (or with training) everything important to their situation. A degree in teaching is an advantage if properly applied, but experience and talent trump formal education about education all day.

Were I a buxiban laoban, if someone is getting an ARC illegally, or working illegally and know it, I would feel that person has a higher risk of breaking their contract with me-- like taking students away from my school to teach privately-- than someone who wants to have all the T’s crossed and (lowercase) i’s dotted.