Theft/comprehensive bike insurance

[quote=“Jeeves_Cripes”]For what it’s worth, I’ve been driving here for nearly 5 years with nothing more than a now-long-expired AAA international driving permit from the U.S.

Even expired, I was able to use it to purchase a new CB1300 motorcycle, and to apply for insurance. Also, after an accident last year, both the Taichung police and the insurance company of the monkey bastard who hit me accepted it without complaint.

Your mileage may vary, of course, and do I intend to get a real Taiwanese license one of these days, but if you’re coming from the U.S., it’s worth picking one up. Or pick up the equivalent sort of thing from wherever you live.

It’s worked fine for me, but maybe I’ve been super lucky.[/quote]
where do i get an insurance? what kind of insurance do u have? i am not talking about the one they always give u when u buy a bike, i mean like damage against 3rd party or if ur bike gets stolen or stuffs like that… how much would that cost?

[quote=“omerojs”]
where do I get an insurance? what kind of insurance do you have? I am not talking about the one they always give u when u buy a bike, I mean like damage against 3rd party or if your bike gets stolen or stuffs like that… how much would that cost?[/quote]

Tokio Marine ( tmnewa.com.tw )offers theft coverage and collision (pays for your own bike if your at fault), but it’s expensive. As I remember, it runs around 10% of the value of your bike per year.

As for 3rd party coverage, I have mine through Zurich ( www.zurich.com.tw ), but it’s my understanding that for red-tag bikes, it’s now available from any company in Taiwan that would normally insure cars.

Right now, I’ve only got the insurance that came with the bike. I’ve been told that it’s impossible to get theft insurance for a big bike, which is what I really want.

edit

That’s good news, but Jesus, that’s expensive. Yeesh.