Those pocket calculator language computer thingies

Hello all,
I was at the Nova in Taipei yesterday, just wasting a little bit of free time with a buddy. I came across a kiosk that sold those pocket calculator language thingies. The kind gentleman showed me the pride of his fleet, a Besta something or other (lost the model name). It had a function where I could write chinese characters into a little window, and it would translate them to English for me. That intrigues me, as I am always looking at signs and menus and wondering what the hell they say. I am a beginner at Chinese. I am always looking for more nouns and adjectives to add to my verbal dictionary.
Do these things help?
Will they also translate to Wade-gilles/Pinyin?
I don’t have the time for proper Chinese school, so this seems like a decent option at 6 grand.
I am good at sketching, so copying a character from sight is easy for me. I have a bit of chinese school behind me to back up the stroke order and all.
I want to go to a mechanic (by myself) and ask him to adjust the air/fuel on my carbeurator(sp!) to my specifications.
I want to order 100 yards of rough cotton bast for painting on.
I want to go to a paint store and order bulk pigments and latex base to make myself good, cheap paint for my hobby.
I want to have a mini-steadycam for my DVcam made that can bolt on to the frame of my bike.
I have taken Taiwanese friends and even patient girlfrinds with me to try and get these things done, but I’m a really particular guy about fullfilling my somewhat “out there” plans. My Taiwanese friends don’r really understand what I want properly. (not sure if I should try “where can I find”
I’m also running a Mac laptop on Tiger and would appreciate any pushes towards good software or even peripheral options this way.
I just feel like getting on it. I’m a bit of a loner, and patient as hell to a fault about things like this, but I wanna get busy on it!
thanks,
smashy