Travelling During Chinese New Year

Hi all,

I’m fairly new to Taiwan and was hoping to get out of Taipei for at least a day or two during the New Year.From what I can gather, travelling during the new year is almost impossible. Does anyone know of any places close to Taipei that are worth going to/ possible at this time of year?

[quote=“dasboot”]Hi all,

I’m fairly new to Taiwan and was hoping to get out of Taipei for at least a day or two during the New Year.From what I can gather, travelling during the new year is almost impossible. Does anyone know of any places close to Taipei that are worth going to/ possible at this time of year?[/quote]

Not impossible. Lots of people travel during the new year. Even in a place like Kenting you can still get rooms. The trouble is getting there. Buses might be tough and trains would be standing room only.

What kind of stuff do you want to see? Nature, art, religion, shopping?

The trick is to go south when everyone else is going north.

The 2nd day of CNY is when the masses flock south. They come back a day or two later.

[quote=“Chris”]The trick is to go south when everyone else is going north.

The 2nd day of CNY is when the masses flock south. They come back a day or two later.[/quote]
Indeed. Avoid leaving right around the official holiday and avoid public transportation. Wait a few days, rent some scooters (if you don’t have one) and take off! Shouldn’t be hard to find places to stay later in the week (I’ve never had any trouble). I would still avoid the more obvious tourist traps (Kending, Sun Moon Lake etc.) during the whole week.

Just go have fun and explore! And if the weather is atrocious, just stay home and enjoy having Taipei to yourself.

As far as what’s nice near Taipei it depends on the weather and whether or not you have your own transportation. The Nanzhuang and Tai’an areas of Miaoli are nice places to stay, have a hotspring and get away from the city.