Type of degree needed to teach abroad

Do you need a degree specifically from a english speaking country to get a work visa even if you’re a native speaker and tefl qualified?

If you have a passport from an English speaking country, any degree from any country should be ok to get a work permit to teach English at cram schools.

Thank you for the reply, was wanting to go to university in a place and possibly teach english afterwards or privately while I go to school. I currently have a associates from a english speaking country but did not know if they would hold it against me if I got a degree that was different than the overpriced degrees from the U.S. or U.K.

I’m afraid that I might not understand your post correctly. You have a passport from an English speaking country, and will go to uni in somenon-english speaking country, then come to Taiwan to teach English, is this right?

Then, any degree from any country is ok.

Would they accept a Taiwanese degree or would that even be a disadvantage? There was a pretty well reknowned school in Taipei for computer science I was considering but didn’t know if they would accept that afterwards or not for teaching English.

You might want to brush up on a few fundamentals of the language first.

4 Likes

Alright thank you, just making sure. Read somewhere that you need a degree from a english speaking country and wasn’t sure of the validity of that or not or if that was the only way you could get a visa.

If I go to school in Taipei I plan on doing just that even before I leave. I know that knowing chinese and being able to read traditional characters will be important except for the subway in Taipei which supposedly has english.

If you want to get a work permit for non English teaching job, you don’t need a passport from an English speaking country, and the degree can be from any country, including taiwanese degree. The degree should be relevant to the job, though.