Typhoon! 2004

Typhoon coming! Everyone take cover! We’re all gonna die!
Except for lane119, of course who will be holed up in a secret bunker in central Taiwan trading war stories with Lee Tung-hui.
CLICK HERE FOR PATH OF THE MONSTER!!!

Question!!! Hmm… this is my first time being in any kind of tropical storm -_-;; Therefore… when is this exactly supposed to happen? I live on a mountain… it doesn’t sound very safe for a typhoon to come and for me to live on a mountain… and I heard that this is a small typhoon – right? THANKS!

expect rain and winds. is your mountain side on the china side or the pacific side? unless you are getting whacked straight on it ain’t nothing to fret about.

Joannie, don’t worry too much about the typhoon. Relatively few people in Taiwan are hurt by them. Many of those who are, however, have one or more of the following reactions to the huge storms:
[ul][li]Wow! The storm is really making the sea violent. What a great time to do some fishing while standing on the very edge of the coast![/li]
[li]Darn it! The ocean’s too far away. I’ll just have to do my fishing in the flash-flood area of the local river.[/li]
[li]Damn! Some of that loose debris that’s flying around outside at 200 kph must have knocked out my cable TV. I’ll just go up on the roof now and try to fix it.[/li]
[li]Violent winds and torrential rains? What a great time to go driving on a narrow mountain road where boulders could come crashing down from the cliffs above![/li][/ul]
Resist the above urges and you should be fine.

Answer!!! I’ve been through two hurricanes. Tradition is to put tape on your windows, buy up all the bottled water and beer you can find, and get sh*tfaced. At the peak of the storm, call Domino’s and order a couple of pizzas for immediate delivery.

For bonus style points, tape the words “BLOW ME” on the windows.