Using Chinese in the classroom

Do any other teachers use Chinese in the classroom, even when the schools prohibit it? There are some points in class when it seems all but necessary. Be it teaching very young children something very difficult, or getting a kid to go downstairs to get a mop and clean up that shit he just spilled. All the body language in the world wouldn’t help my class of small children understand "And you? (as in “I’m fine, and you?”). God, how smoothly the class went after I repeated:
“And you?..Ni ne?

several times. Or when teaching “Hurry up”, repeating "Kuai yi dian" a few times, all the students smiled and immidiately understood.

I guess I’m just a bad teacher.

I teach adults so I’m not sure that this relates exactly but in my classes I encourage my students to speak all the Manadrin they want. They just have to follow one simple rule - If it is said in Mandarin an attempt has to be made to translate that material to English. This has two effects: 1) If it is really easy, they say it in English the first time. 2) If it is going to be difficult to translate they don’t say it at all. Two is more problematic to be sure. In any case, you frequently discover as an adult student that the best learning environment is a bilingual one. If this is true why not try to create the ultimate bi-lingual environment for our students. It can be suprisingly easy to do. If you want more on this topic you could check out "How bout these apples’ by bob in this forum. Cheers.

i’ve always doen 70/30- 30 percent chinese 70 percent english. i ask a few questions at the begining of class in english then i pretty much know the level range in the class. so i know what phrases porabaly need to be translated. that works for me.