Visa Run Question

I need to do a visa run, I’ve never done one before, so I’m hoping someone can help me with my questions (thank you!).
When I arrive at the destination airport, do I need to pass through immigration? (essentially leaving the airport) or can I simply go through to the international transfer security checkpoint? (Assuming my flight back to Taiwan is within a few hours.)
Is getting a stamp on my passport proving I left Taiwan mandatory? Or is my re-entry enough?
I have an Australian Passport (90 days visa-exempt entry).
Thank you in advance!

I don’t believe they check where you’ve been; just that you’ve left.

Yes, you have to pass through immigration and then go back through the airport again, check back in and so on.

You’ll need to show them that you’ve booked a flight leaving Taiwan, however. Unless you’re just doing this for working visa purposes.

I haven’t tried to do a same-day visa run (always stay at least one night) so take this with a grain of salt:

• I’d think that you’d want to pass through immigration even if you’re not required (though I’d think you’d be required to since it’s not really a transfer but a separate flight – I wouldn’t think they would give you your return ticket when checking-in in Taiwan?) to make sure that you’ve “entered” a different country
  • Are you referring to the exit stamp that Taiwan gives? Or the entry stamp to another country? At Kaohsiung Airport at least they have stopped giving exit stamps (and just use the automated machines), and not all countries give an entry stamp (I believe HK doesn’t give an entry stamp?). Either way, I think as long as you passed through immigration of another country you’d be clear