Want To Start Paying Taxes In Taiwan - HOW?

Hello,

I have several questions. I hope I can find some help here.

Background information:
I’m self-employed, freelancer. I have been traveling around the world for several years now, currently residing in Taiwan. I will soon become a tax resident based on the 183 days rule. I don’t have contracts, pay-slips as I’ve been paid through PayPal/cash/cash transfer services.

My Questions:

1. I want to start paying taxes in Taiwan. I want to do this primarily because I want to justify that I’m paying taxes SOMEWHERE. How do I do this?
  2. I don’t operate under a legal entity (a company) so how can I justify this income? Foreign sourced income?
  3. When do I have to start paying taxes? For 2023, do I pay as soon as I hit the milestone of 183 days or next year, during the next filing period?
  4. I plan on marrying a Taiwanese national. By marrying her, I’ll get an ARC with open work rights. Will it be very difficult getting a bank account as I’m not locally employed? Right now, the only bank account I have is at the post office.

Thank you in advance for taking the time to help me with this. I hope I don’t have to consult a tax lawyer.

I see the following issue:

You currently don’t seem to have an ARC with open work rights (yet), so you’re technically working in Taiwan illegally.

Asides from that, you can simply go to the tax office next year and declare your income for this year.

Yes, although it will count as “Taiwan-sourced” because you earned it while physically working from Taiwan.

You make a very good point and I was just updating my post to reflect that.

So, in this case, the sensible thing to do would be laying low? I’m not asking how to commit tax evasion, I just want some opinions on the best course of action.