What are the benefits of an ARC/Taiwanese citizenship?

Hello,

I’m an ABT and plan to live in Taiwan next year for at least 365 days. I have the opportunity to apply for TARC and then Taiwanese citizenship (would be dual citizenship, no need to renounce), however, it’s an arduous process now that I’m over 20 years old. I need some help figuring out if going through the process is worth it. My question mainly pertains to whether the TARC is worth it.

1. I’m female and do not need to worry about the draft.
  2. I’m a freelancer and my work is all online/remote and based in the U.S. I also have no health insurance. U.S. health insurance for freelancers is expensive and sucks.
  3. All my close family is in the U.S. (I’m an American citizen) so I may or may not stay in Taiwan after the first year.

The paperwork I’d have to get together to apply would take a lot of time (the physical check up that they require is basically a bunch of tests. I’m in contact with insurance companies to see if they’d be able to cover them - no health facility has been able to give me a no-insurance price quote) and is potentially quite expensive (hundreds of dollars). If/when I get all the paperwork together, I can apply for TARC at the NIA. Then I’d have to wait 365 days to get my ID card and household registration.

So far, the biggest reason I can see for getting TARC (and subsequently citizenship) is healthcare and banking. And the right to work. Am I missing anything? The U.S. passport is much more powerful when it comes to entering foreign countries, but let me know if Taiwan has a leg up on the U.S. passport in this regard anywhere (China doesn’t count; if you have dual U.S./Taiwan, their govt will only recognize the U.S. one unless you renounce it)