What careers are available for returnees who don't speak Mandarin at a high level?

I speak enough Mandarin to have a conversation and get by in everyday life. However, I am not yet fluent enough to be able to use Mandarin formally i.e. writing essays. I currently work in the business processing outsourcing industry and my job is only in English, since all the relevant materials and clients are abroad. However, I am worried about my long-term job prospects in Taiwan.

I’ve worked in a few industries and never had to write an essay. You’ll probably be fine.

1 Like

I mean that there would be times when I would need to write executive summaries, etc. in Mandarin. I am not up to that level yet. (I am working to improve my Mandarin though.)

I’ve never had to write anything in any of my jobs in my entire life. Except maybe emails, but they don’t do emails in Taiwan. If you can write a Line message in Chinese, I’d say you’re good to go.

You should be more concerned about verbal communication. If you end up working at a job that uses specific industry jargon, you should definitely make an effort to learn all the common terms used.

I would have problems speaking very formally, but I do not have any problems understanding basic instructions etc.

I’d say you’re doing better than most foreigners here.

Besides, you said you already have a job, and are only worried about long-term prospects right? Well, your Chinese will improve in the long run. Do make an effort to learn though. It won’t improve if you’re only surrounding yourself with foreigners.

I do practice my Mandarin everyday, but it is mainly outside of work since we generally only use English at work

Perhaps you can organize an “advanced” language exchange group. You can help Taiwanese people improve their professional English skills, and they can help you improve your professional Chinese skills.

2 Likes