What do you think of old Escudo?

I’m referring to the 3-door Suzuki Escudo. Despite its age, it still looks good. Any maintenance problem ?

There are several problems with the old Escudo/Vitara. As a former technician on these vehicles I have several years experience with them on a day to day basis.
Before listing things to look for on these vehicles I still maintain that as an off road vehicle, they perform very well with minimal modifications, but as a road going vehicle, they are poor performers in almost every aspect.

There are two basic engines for the Escudo, 16 and 8 valve, both 1.6 litre. The 16 valve is the later engine, but both engines need their tapits adjusting manually and are without lash adjusters. The 16valve requires shim adjustment, the 8 valve traditional feeler gauge adjustment. This is an additional piece of maintenance that many other more modern 4x4s do not require.
DO NOT fit oversized wheels to the Escudo as this drastically reduces its performance with a standard 1.6ltr engine and often causes rapid wear and degradation of its suspension, hubs and steering system, often resulting in a dangerous vehicle, even between normal service intervals.

Things to check or look out for on all models.

1. Air control valves (Manual adjustment, and need adjusting on regular service intervals. Plug in computer necessary)
  2. Power steering pump drive belts slip and frequently need adjusting and replacement.
  3. Power steering pumps may leak oil and bearings may fail in cases where the belt has been overtightened to reduce the common squealing, especially when wet.
  4. Front wheel bearings often fail due to overloading with larger wheel rims and tyres.
  5. Front steering system often wears early when fitted with oversized wheels and tyres.
  6. Transfer box chain and bearings often fail. Often due to four wheel drive wind-up.
  7. Rear differentials often need attention, bearings, adjustment etc.