What does it take to be fired from Hess? (Especially during pandemic)

Hey, I love my job and my students however one of the Taiwanese teachers (He’s been at the school for years) seems to really have it in for me. He is constantly negative and from last week he has started to completely ignore me even if I ask a question face to face. This has been happening for months but got worse recently. I spoke to the manager who confirmed he knows the issue but won’t tell me, but hinted it’s something to do with the way I plan my classes and thinks i’m ill-prepared. (I am a good teacher, never late, never taken a day off and all the work gets done every lesson and i’m very friendly to everybody there).

As he’s been there longer and spends a lot of time with the manager of the school and is friendly to all other teachers, i’m starting to get extremely paranoid about being let go. This sucks for many reasons, yet the main ones being the current pandemic if I have to leave Taiwan and the other being that I don’t have a lot of savings.

So my question is, what does it actually take to get fired from Hess? Is it only for extreme reasons or could it be anything?

Many thanks

Is the school owned directly by HESS or is it a franchisee?

I believe it’s a franchisee

I have no input, but what a great manager you have (not)!

1 Like

You should have a senior teacher at HESS head office who will sort this out. Did you get assigned one during training?

Try to get a transfer.
The policy against transferring is not set in stone. Less teachers coming in. Maybe they can use you elsewhere.

Why do Taiwanese do that behavior. It’s so passive aggressive. It is wrong to be assertive here. The way I dealt with this was to spoil the other staff. They got so jealous they starting treating me good again. Super mean but screw them. Life’s short, get the heck out of my way.

7 Likes