What kind of work is there here for a Canadian Lawyer?

I am a Canadian Lawyer, practising mostly litigation law for the last 8 years. I moved here with my wife (who is Taiwanese) in June, 2005 and have been in school, learning Chinese since then. We live in Tao Yuan, but I commute to Taipei every day for School.

In Canada, I started out working in a general practice doing mostly plaintiff personal injury work, but also did some wills, real estate, family, criminal, general litigation, and a tiny bit of immigration.

I then worked for 3 years at a human rights firm representing mentally ill people who had been found “not criminally responsible on account of mental disorder” at their periodic Review Board hearings. In that job I also was co-counsel at a human rights tribunal hearing.

After funding cuts, I moved back into motor vehicle accident law, this time for the defence.

After taking Chinese for a year, I think I am at an intermediate level.

I hear there are a few foreign lawyers on this site and I wonder if you would have any advice to offer regarding looking for “legal” work in Taiwan and what kind of work is available for lawyers licenced in other jurisdictions in Taiwan.

I think as a result of the WTO I am entitled to practise Canadian law or international law, but for other work would be a “consultant”

I would be most grateful for any advice or information you could provide.

How well do you know the laws regarding illicit drugs? Gotta be some work representing your countrymen right there.

HG

There seems to be a number of waiguoren who run afoul of Taiwanese law. Someone once suggested to me that all foreigners should carry the card of a lawyer and whenever they got into trouble they could simply give the lawyer a call.