What's the technical job market like in Taiwan?

Hi, I just graduated from college and is coming back to Taiwan to work in the IT industry. I was just wondering what the job market is like in Taipei for entry-level techies? I have a non-technical degree, but it is from a prestigious US university. I do have pretty decent technical experience from interning in some big companies in the Silicon Valley. About how much can you expect an entry-level person to get paid? How many hours do people have to work per week? Are local companies crappier to work for than american or european companies? How did you guys go about getting your IT jobs? Thanks!!

I have heard that entry level positions pay between NT$45,000 and NT$70,000 per month. That is with a much lower tax rate. I think it is 9% only after 6 months and 20% in the first 6 months but you get to claim back the money at the end of the fiscal year. Also that is with a minimum of 13 months pay and I have heard of some people getting stock. These are for jobs as technical writers (user manuals) or PR guys talking ot the media, ad copy writing and so on and all of the above.

You can get the jobs by checking the local English dailies. You need to bring along a copy of your degree and proof of related work experience (reccommednation letters) and I think it has total 2 years, but I heard they do not verify it so you if you have to you can manufacture it.

You work 5 days a week, 9-6 with one hour for lunch.

Regarding working for Taiwanese companies, well they traditionally are crappier to work for and it is hit or miss whether they treat foreigners the same, better or worse than the locals.

Send me a MSG via the Oriented members feature and I have a few leads, anyone else interested I have several leads for jobs in Technical companies in the greater Taipei area.