Where can I study Chinese in the mountains?

I’d like to do a semester in Chinese language studies to bring my Chinese up to scratch before starting a new job in Taiwan later this year. I’m not currently in Taiwan, but I have a Gold Card, so I don’t need to study somewhere that provides a visa. I’d rather do this away from Taipei (so no NCCU, which I know is in the mountains) in somewhere more remote with spectacular views before going back to the big smoke later for work.

Anywhere you can recommend?

2 Likes

DYU

I studied Chinese at Tzu Chi University 慈濟大學 in Hualian. Not exactly in the mountains but at the base, plus close to Taroko and to the beautiful east coast to make studying there very pleasant.

Maybe too pleasant. I planned to study for a year, but after six months I stopped attending classes to spend nearly every day enjoying the scenery in Hualian and Taidong. It was five more months of bliss that I don’t regret at all

8 Likes

Isn’t Sun Yatsen university in Kaoshiung on a hill or something. There is a beach anyway

2 Likes

I saw Chinese culture university in yanmingshan. Does that count as mountain?

4 Likes

That’s what I was going to recommend. It’s half way up the mountain.

Always wondered why you were only Steve 4n Language and never made it to Steve 5n Language. This explains it.

3 Likes

National Chi Nan University near Puli, Sun Moon Lake

1 Like

Definitely a difference between a crowded busy University or school on a hill or mountain and a quiet place to study Chinese in the mountains.

Depends on if you’re just looking for some hills or looking to get away to some remote place to study chinese.

do they have language course?

:point_up: Click on pdf download of list of schools

:point_up: there’s website link inside and email address

:thinking:

4 Likes

One of my ideas and dreams has been to go somewhere like Chingjing for a month.