Where do you keep your savings?

I put my savings in my Canadian bank account.

I have a small concern regarding the stability of the Taiwan dollar/political stability.

For example what if something happens and China decides to press the button?

I’m not saying it is likely but it is a possibility and if it happens then all my saving woud be flushed down the toilet.

i wouldnt be to concerned about stablity of the NT$ if you are going to be here longer than the next decade. i think if any trouble were about to happen there would be massive withdrawl of dollars out of taiwan from people far smarter than you and i (no offence)… just that youd have time to do it iof necessary

that said, when the exchange rate is sweet i transfer money back home. then again, i transfer it straight back when the situation reverses. if you are that concerned get a $US account out of singapore, jpn or hk.

my 2c

I am not a tax accountant and this is my first year filing here but I am using an accountant. There are obviously many surprises good and bad. But as an American if you have more than 10,000 US in a foreign bank there is another form that must be filled out and filed with the Treasury Dept. TD F 90-22-1 I don't know how big a deal it is but my accountant almost kissed me when in my ignorance and blind luck when I told her I always keep the amount below 10K and send it back to a bank in the US. I had no knowledge of the law and just did it.

I keep mine in a mayonnaise jar under my pillow.

Ecaps

[quote=“Ecaps”]I keep mine in a mayonnaise jar under my pillow.

Ecaps[/quote]

either a small jar, or a rough sleep? :wink:

The form takes about 2 minutes to fill out, so it’s not very time consuming. However, it might be a signal for Big Brother to watch you, so who knows.

That was my point too. I would rather the IRS never become my friend or advisary. The less interest they have in me the better.