Which is the best bank in TW to open an account for buying stocks as an American?

I’m new to stocks and want to make some small, low risk investments. From what I’ve seen here, it’s annoying for Americans to buy stocks here through local banks. Any recommendations?

You could open an account with Interactive Brokers, they are open to Taiwan residents, and given they are American you should be able to trust them.

5 Likes

I tried but I was denied. Something about them requiring experience.

I’ve heard a lot of banks turn down Americans trying to open this kind of account because of our tax rules. I’d prefer to use a local bank.

Did you try to open a leveraged account or something? I’m sure you would be accepted if you opened an account for just investing your own money.

2 Likes

individual

Investing from Taiwan as an American is a pretty bad idea with all the additional tax filing paperwork required. I would consult a CPA first. There’s FBAR, 8938, PFIC, maybe more. You’ll pay much more commissions and fees than using a US brokerage, more taxes, everything is worse. There’s no benefit to going this route unless you are buying local Taiwanese company stocks.

1 Like

Thanks, I didn’t understand a word of that though lol

2 Likes

So Taiwan has no such low cost self directed funds you can buy like most countries, like VFV in Canada for S&P SPY?
I asked a few years ago and Yuanta was trying to sell me a bank fund that invested in that, but they wanted something like 0.5% in fees to give them my money. The guy said the initial deposit was discounted from fees slightly but any future deposits got hit with 0.5 or something. The plus side is no capital gains taxes in Taiwan

No capital gains taxes is only for Taiwanese stocks. The foreign stocks would fall under AMT tax exclusion limit.