Why not to start your Chinese learning in Taiwan

I decided to make this post to give my perspectives on Chinese studying to anyone thinking about coming to Taiwan or going to China, based on my experiences studying in both places. In all, I studied Chinese at Middlebury College (L1), abroad in China with my college (L2), at Princeton in Beijing (L3) and ICLP in Taipei (L4).

I have come to the conclusion that anyone with less than three years of college Chinese under their belt, or four if you’ve not studied intensively (i.e. gone to China or another intensive school), you should avoid going to Taiwan, but at very advanced levels, Taiwan is a good place to be. (edit - I am mainly referring to Taipei here, since it’s where students from overseas tend to come to study Chinese. This post is also about Chinese students choosing whether to fly to Taiwan or to China, not people who have lived in Taiwan for a while, the experiences of which in learning Chinese will be very different.)

The crux of why anyone should avoid Taiwan at low levels is that it’s a really terrible environment to learn Chinese in. Even Middlebury, Vermont provides a far superior environment to Taiwan… and that’s an English speaking country! Most level 2/3 Chinese students I saw in Taiwan encountered a lot of the same language troubles I did, but instead of dealing with them, they were just overcome by them. Most younger people (under 35 or so I’d say) in Taiwan have some conversational ability in English, and most of them want to improve it (especially women). If you encounter any problems with your Chinese, most people’s first instinct is to switch to English. According to a teacher, hundreds of students in ICLP’s history have complained that when they talk to people in Taiwan, they respond in English. Local people have told me it’s because they think you can’t understand Chinese.