Wire Transfer from Latin America to Taiwan?

Hi there,

I’ve looked at other posts regarding bank transfers but most are already old or did not provide the information I’m looking for. Here’s my question:

Which bank in Taiwan does not charge a receiving fee from an international wire transfer?

I am looking to have money transferred to Taiwan from abroad and would like to do it through the most convenient way. I am a student so each penny counts for me. I know the post office uses a correspondent bank so transfers first go to a bank in New York and then from there to here. I’m trying to avoid this situation where the correspondent bank charges a fee (unknown how much) and then the post bank charges another fee for receiving (don’t know how much, but the person at the counter made it sound as if it was a lot). I’m guessing this whole mess is because the Post Bank is not part of the SWIFT system?

Not sure about Taiwan, but my bank in Europe did not charge any fees. If I was sent 500 Euros, then 500 Euros would be in my account every month, and this was while receiving an intl wire transfer from outside the EU, outside the SEPA system.

I went to First Bank and they also told me that money coming from abroad sort of goes through an intermediary bank and then here. Yet I saw a post by someone who said never had any issues with First Bank. I was confused if it was something similar to the Post Bank. It is my understanding that First Bank is a member of SWIFT so shouldn’t it be more of a smoother transaction than if I used the Post Bank? I know for the Post bank you even give the SWIFT details of the NY Bank, but for First Bank they seem to have their own SWIFT details.

Any recommendations?

thank you!

1 Like

I don’t remember having been charged by my bank in Taiwan for incoming transfers, but it’s been a while I received money from abroad. I am using BOT for incoming transfers.

The intermediaries like to charge plenty of $$$ though.

Welcome to Forumosa!