Work Permit a possibility for recent bachelors degree?

Hey guys,

I’m relatively fresh out of college with a BS (I graduated this past May 09) and I am planning on moving to Taipei on January 18. I already have my plane ticket. I’ve been accepted to MTC at NTNU and am waiting on the admissions letter to be mailed to me here so I can apply for a multiple-entry extendable visitor visa. I am hopeful that I can find work as a research assistant in a neuroscience lab.

I have been blitz emailing professors at several different universities around Taipei, as well as people at Academia Sinica and have gotten a few positive responses. One such researcher at NTU, however, stressed that I would have a hard time getting a work permit as a “low-tech” foreign worker. I don’t have 2 years of experience since graduating, because I’ve only been done with school for about six months. I really want to get a job researching neuroscience. If I can get through the hurdles of finding someone with funding for a research assistant, what are my chances of getting a work permit for such a position? I don’t think I can prove myself to have any unusual special skills that a Taiwanese college student couldn’t obtain.

Is there anyone out there who had similar specs when they went to Taiwan and were able to secure themselves a job in science research? How did they do it?

Is there hope for me?

Thanks!

You could try to apply for admission into a masters program in the department and school you’re interested in, then get a student visa that way. Masters programs in Taiwan require research work and a thesis and can be completed within two years’ time.

Academia Sinica does offer a short summer internship program to foreign students I believe.

I am working in Academia Sinica right now, but I do have a MS (in the US).