Working as a nanny in Taiwan

Original Title: A Place to Advert Myself as a Babysitter/Nanny?

I know there is the “Taiwanted” section, but I figured parents would be able to help me best. I’m on a mission to find a service where I could advertise myself as a babysitter/nanny in Taipei.

I have a LOT of experience for my age (several years with one family along, and then many babysitting jobs on the side with infants, kids, and pre-teens) and I love doing this so I would love to continue in Taiwan.

In the US I use services like sittercity and care.com
Does anyone know if Taiwan has something similar to this (and in English)?

I really love nannying and I don’t know how long I can stomach TEFL-ing. I’m also studying Mandarin on the side so part-time babysitting in addition to nannying for a family would be ideal.

Does anyone think my utter lack of Mandarin will destroy my chances or do you think that might be an advantage? I would love to teach the family kids English; I just don’t want to deal with these buxiban things I’m hearing such awful things about.

Thanks!

It sounds to me like it would be an advantage. Some wealthy Taiwanese family would probably love to have a native English speaking nanny. However, be sure to check out the work visa regulations before you proceed any further.

[quote=“tomthorne”][quote=“Lili”]
Does anyone think my utter lack of Mandarin will destroy my chances or do you think that might be an advantage? I would love to teach the family kids English; I just don’t want to deal with these buxiban things I’m hearing such awful things about.
[/quote]

It sounds to me like it would be an advantage. Some wealthy Taiwanese family would probably love to have a native English speaking nanny. However, be sure to check out the work visa regulations before you proceed any further.[/quote]