Working holiday. Need ideas. Going out of my mind

So I landed 22nd Oct, I’m on a working holiday. I’m from England, I’m 30, My background is in IT. I have a Taiwanese Wifu, we currently living in Taipei City.
I kindly ask for any advice on what I can do to stop me from going out of my mind. Specifically advice on what I can do to help me get in to some kind of routine here. I’m wide awake at most times and having little to no sleep each night.
General advice, such as pulling my finger out of my arse and getting a job is a no brainer, I would love that very much. However I feel I need to establish some kind of social network first, along with hobbies and interests to keep me busy.

One tiny caveat is that I carry with me major anxiety issues, of which medication is out of the question, but would have been my saviour in a previous life - without going in to too much detail here. I spent the whole day getting ready to go find a gym only for my mind to tell me not to step out of the bedroom for fear of anything

Be kind

What do you like to do?

There are many clubs and teams to join in Taipei. Many of us play on some sports team. Martial arts imo is pretty beneficial for the mind as well.

Lots of hiking trails in Taiwan as well. Not for me as i’ve had knee injuries, but other people enjoy it.

Thanks for the reply. I’m not the sporty type, but is there a good way to find groups of like minded people?

Hiya. I’m not the sporty type, but is there a good way to find groups of like minded people?

But what do you enjoy doing?

Sorry, avoided the question because I really don’t know. I was stuck in a hole for ten years back home and had little in the way of life

I think a good one is art classes. I started to learn how to draw and it’s nice. I don’t love it or anything. But it’s pretty neat to have the skills to draw something.

1 Like

How would I go about finding such things?

2 Likes