Working Holiday Visa

Good morning,

I am a Belgian citizen and I am considering moving to Taiwan in a couple of months under the work holiday visa program. Belgium signed a working holiday visa agreement with Taiwan two years ago and I think that 200 Belgians are allowed to travel to Taiwan, but I have read that very few foreigners are taking advantage of that program anyway. I was just wondering if there were people out there who have participated to the program and How they would describe their experience. I have been reading lots of posts on this forum and I am getting worried it would be almost impossible for me to land a job there. I have a degree in politics and I am not an English native, so it looks like my options will be very limited. I should add that I don’t speak Chinese (but planning on learning a bit before coming). Any tip/advice would be welcomed! :bow:

There have been topics on this in the past but so few people come to Taiwan on working holiday visas that getting a reply from someone who has actually done it will be difficult. If you haven’t already searched, these are quite typical:

http://www.forumosa.com/taiwan/viewtopic.php?f=67&t=107751

http://www.forumosa.com/taiwan/viewtopic.php?f=67&t=91622

http://www.forumosa.com/taiwan/viewtopic.php?f=67&t=121228

Somewhere there is a thread with some government statistics on the matter. The numbers are minuscule, basically because of the need to speak Chinese and the pay. A minimum wage job here would get you about 3.5 Euros per hour, at most?

Thanks for the links even though you can’t really say you get a lot of useful information…
I don’t really understand the total lack of interest for that program in Taiwan. Especially when you see that thousands of French people wanna go freeze their ass in Canada every year.