Would I be able to teach in Taiwan...?

From what I know… it seems that to teach english (legally) in Taiwan… one has to be from an english-speaking country (US/UK/Australia etc)…

What if I don’t come of one of those following countries but English is still my first language? (by the way I am from Singapore…)
I am currently studying in an Australian university and might consider applying for permanent residency when I graduate next year in June.
Would being a PR of Australia make me eligible for teaching in Taiwan?

I would greatly appreciate if anyone could offer some advice… :help:

I think you’re out of luck.

I agree with Maoman. Just browse the forum, or have a look at the ads placed for English teachers. Most Taiwanese have a pre-conceived idea of what an English teacher ‘should look like’ . Sadly lots of ABC’s and CBC’s I know here in Taiwan struggle with this stereotypical conception of foreign teachers.

[quote=“ayu”]From what I know… it seems that to teach English (legally) in Taiwan… one has to be from an English-speaking country (US/UK/Australia etc)…

What if I don’t come of one of those following countries but English is still my first language? (by the way I am from Singapore…)
I am currently studying in an Australian university and might consider applying for permanent residency when I graduate next year in June.
Would being a PR of Australia make me eligible for teaching in Taiwan?

I would greatly appreciate if anyone could offer some advice… [/quote]
I have never been able to obtain technical details from the Ministry of Education on this policy … and there is no information posted on the MOE website.