"You and Me"

Had anyone had any experience with the

My school used the books for a few years. We found they were useless for total beginners as each lesson introduced too many different grammatical features. Rather than learning naturally students were learning very little.

We found they were useful for students who had already studied in a fairly intensive environment in kindergarten (say 10-20 hours a week). The first semester of grade one we prepared students for reading with simple texts (one page one line kidn of books). Then we jumped into book 4 of You and Me.

I really don’t like the books very much except for the fact that later lessons have some really excellent topics. For kids who can handle the vocabulary they are great. My students were only in grade 4 but were learning about bankbooks, deposits, mummies, horizontal bars, and so on.

The CDROM’s are pretty good for the kids to use to review at home. Actually I was using them for a while to learn Chinese as they were bilingual. I wish they were a lower price though.

I’ve often thought to ask someone qualified (like Ironlady) what they think of using the lessons for supplementary reading in Chinese. Ever lesson in the series has a translation in the back of the book. This translation covers not only the dialogue but the vocabulary also. Of course the book is not set up for learning Chinese so you’re likely to get some grammar and expressions (even in the early lessons) that are too advanced for a beginner in Chinese. But for the most part you’re getting dialogues where the vocabulary and grammar is controlled. Each book has 10 lessons if I remember correctly and there are over thirty books in the series. That’s a lot of reading practise.

But as I said, I’d be interested in an informed opinion on the matter.