104.com.tw?

Hi guys,

I recently graduated here in Taiwan for a master’s degree in communications at Shi Xin. I graduated as a Chinese major back at home and i’m hoping to find a job in Taiwan that hopefully allows me to use both.
I have already jumped into the biggest job resource website, 104.com.tw. I established a profile and applied for a few jobs through the website. But every so often i’ve" got offers from companies in my mailbox, and I was just was wondering if anyone could perhaps shed some light on how they work?
Are those actually offers from companies that went through my resume or are they all just automated responses based on software that just crossreferences keywords on my resume with a particular application? My only sole concern is that i’m not really sure if they know that i’m a foreign with good (but not great) Chinese, rather than a native speaker with good english.

Any experiences?

Thanks!

Howdy. I just sent you a very long private message with some hopefully useful advice.

I personally have had no luck with 104. I only got the occassional offer for sales positions or teaching, and I’m kind of condescending and arrogant and unwilling to do either. :slight_smile:

I am in a similar situation. I found my current job through 104 but they contacted me directly via email after having seen my profile on 104. Although I am not slowly looking for better opportunities I am also a bit clueless as to how the site works. Would you mind sending me the same advice as well please Hokwongwei? I’m sure it will help a lot.

My advice wasn’t really about using 104 – in fact, I basically just said find some companies that interest you and (most vitally) already have an understanding of how valuable a Chinese-fluent English-speaker is, and cold call them.

From my personal experience, this rarely works the first time. But it leaves an impression and then they may reach out to you themselves when the time is right.

Best of luck to all.