Incorrect? Standard? Colloquial?

That’s not incorrect. None of us is, or none of us are, are both standard. Your other sentence just sounds colloquial.

That’s not incorrect. None of us is, or none of us are, are both standard. Your other sentence just sounds colloquial.[/quote]

Stick to your day job, lover. The first example was a badly constructed conditional. The second sentence would sound dumb in the past tense. None of us was going.

See. Speaking the language has no bearing on fully understanding the language.

I will. And thank god no professional gives a shit about what you think. :laughing:

If that sounds mean, well yeah it is. I have been a professional writer and editor for the last 15 years and worked with a great variety of educated, smart, witty, talented people. Once you get a little experience, and shed the trivial lessons of elementary school, you learn the English language is astonishingly fluid and varied. A sentence you are sure is a mess will seem fine to someone else. And vice versa. So you end up spending years studying usage guides, and grammar books, and linguistic papers, looking for clear answers, and find, again, that unless you are a saucy little pedant with a penchant for being narrowly right, and broadly wrong, the English language is not as tight as you imagined.

So again, think what you like, but realize no professional gives a shit.

I will. And thank god no professional gives a shit about what you think. :laughing:[/quote]
:smiley:
Awesome news. Language has no meaning in any form then. Great. I’ll slacken off a bit.
And hey, when people tell you that you have a sense of humour they mean that you sense that humour exists, not that you are funny. :smiley: