What do you think of Geocaching games in Taiwan?

Hello, I’m a newbie to Forumosa.com, so I was not quite sure where to post this question. My name is Matt and I am originally from Sweden. I am part of a small, yet growing, games programming group with members hailing from different parts of the globe. Recently, my group and I thought about starting a new geocaching project (can’t spill all the details yet :aiyo: ), one inspired by Geotoad. Geocaching is a gradually-growing hobby here in Europe, and I’d like to know how it is seen there in Asia, specifically Taiwan. If you’ve participated in geocaching-related activities in Taiwan, I’d love to know how it went, and if it’s already popular on your side of the country. Can you also suggest some interesting spots where we can safely leave geocaching tools? Thank you!

You’re talking my language! I began geocaching in August of 2014, and I’m hooked. I’ve introduced it to my friends (locals and foreigners) and now five of them regularly go geocaching. I’ve also become online friends with other local geocachers (I’m meeting one for the first time on Sunday to go searching together). I’ve found caches in five countries, and next weekend I’ll be in Macau with my geobuddy searching for more.

There are currently about 1,000 active caches in Taiwan, and they’re continuing to increase. I myself have placed four and plan to create more. I would love to be part of this project if that’s possible, so feel free to ask me any specific questions here or by PM.

Looking forward to whatever this project turns out to be!

Dropped my (Travel in Taiwan’s) first geocache close to Taipei Arena. If you want to find it go to http://www.geocaching.com/geocache/GC64R2Q_tea-pot?guid=c9b654b9-efcd-4889-ab21-e91963eff50c

It’s fun. Being found is fun too. Three people on the first day. Didn’t know that there is an active geocaching community here.

Will drop more caches in the future. Probably one near each MRT station in my area.