A friend needs help

I don’t know how to say this.

I have a friend, he’s alcoholic. His girlfriend decided to dump him, and the problem is he’s been living there rent free for quite some time, but went back to the states for 10 months, came back here, went on a vacation, and his girlfriend wants him out by April. I don’t know what went on between them but she jumped the gun, bought him a plane ticket back to the states for next wednesday, and wants him out immediately. Problem is he hasn’t had time to get rid of his stuff or whatever.

He called talking about killing himself, and he is obviously drunk. I’m a lousy therapist but he clearly needs help, especially with the drinking and I can’t do shit about it. I know if he goes back to the states I’ll likely not ever see him again because you know how expensive it is to get help over there, but he needs them.

Problem is I have no idea how I can stop that from happening. He’s got no money but neither do I. But at the same time he needs to quit drinking (however he’s had no desire nor inclination to stop), so I’m not sure what I can do for him. I told one other friend of his about it because I think the situation warrants it… I’m not sure what’s being done.

3 Likes

They need to take that first step, you can’t do it for them.

If you deem him to be a danger to himself or others you need to contact the police or someone who is in a position to help.

6 Likes

I contacted another friend of his, I don’t know if something’s being done about it. I have no idea what else to do. I don’t think he’s a suicide risk but I am worried he will drink so much that he passes out.

I think maybe this is the best option available to you, outside of trying to get professional help. I know there are at least a couple of options for the latter, but I’ve no idea how well they work in Taiwan (I suspect not perfectly), and the person would need to want to do that.