ABC in Taiwan

A conversation at work yesterday kept me up all night.

I was chit chatting with my coworker yesterday telling her that I was getting paid less than the other foreign teacher (white guy).

Just a little of background info:
I’m Chinese American. Lived in the states since I was a baby. English is my main language. Chinese is my fourth.

This conversation went down in Chinese by the way. I was very proud to speak Chinese because I’ve been learning it for 3 years.

I: I’m getting paid less than that other foreign teacher despite teaching all the same classes and having the same work experiences.
She: of course, he’s a native speaker.
I: I AM a native speaker.
She: sorta.
I: No. I am an English native speaker. Chinese is my fourth language.
She: well, he’s white. Of course he gets paid more.

I won’t bother with the rest of the conversation because I blacked out after that remark.

Honestly, this is not the first time that this sort of things happened to me. After 3 years, it still hurts everytime.

Just looking for some support and people who understand what I’m going thru on a daily basis working as an non-white English teacher in Taiwan. Thanks!

1.dye your hair and put on blue contact lenses(poor choice, I tell ya)
or
2.ask for a raise
or
3.start your own classroom

I did 2 and am on 3. I’m enjoying every moment now with my own groups and loving the flexibility I get to have. There’s definitely a lot more pressure and responsibility I have to bear now that I have my own groups and parents to face, but it’s totally worth it.

2 Likes

Ask for more money from the boss.
Tell your coworker she is wrong.
Think about working in another industry.
Discrimination is rife around the world and in Taiwan too…Ageism , looks , money, passport.
Perhaps a million foreign workers have limited labor rights.