Advice for tricky rental situation

Hello all,

This is my first time posting so I’m not sure exactly what to include…

The end of October I inspected and then agreed to move into a place, already two people living here and I was told I would get a rental contract, I specifically mentioned I need one to update my ARC information.

It’s now been close to 3 weeks and I have no contract and no direct contact with the landlord, one of the other tenants, now one of my current housemates, says he is the only person who speaks to the landlord.

Now I admit I was stupid by giving my 2 months bond on Monday before signing a contract and should have thought more, in Australia there are legal protections for tenants whereby bond must be returned if no contract is signed and everything for renting is very offical unlike Taiwan.

The housemate who talks to the landlord has “decided” he doesn’t want to live with me anymore and has asked me to move out, telling me that I will lose half of the bond and get 1 month back because it’s what the landlord says.

I don’t know where I sent the bond to, I don’t know if it was to the landlord or to my housemate.

I’m sure I have no way of getting out of this situation, but I do still have a key and can lock my room.

I read subletting is illegal in Taiwan, so I’m confused by this situation because it does seem like the landlord knows I’m here and it’s not just my housemate doing something dodgy.

I have asked to speak directly with the landlord and my housemate has said he “will ask if it’s okay”.

I feel like I forgot some things, but that’s the general gist, either way if I move out or stay I want to talk to the landlord directly.

1 Like

They want to break contract? They need to give back your money.

Did you pay by cash or bank transfer?

Not illegal. If the landlord wants to, they can allow it. Based on the contract.

Without a contract you won’t get far.