After they leave Taiwan?

What do most people do after they leave Taiwan? What do people who can speak okay Chinese, read a bit - but not up to newspaper level, understand a bit of the culture, and have spent 2-3 years in Taiwan have to look forward to in the job market “back home?” Do most people go back to grad school or have some other transition or reason for leaving Taiwan? And what about those that stay - what do the long termers end up doing - still teaching English or copy editing 10-15 years later? Just wondering.

Well Bai An, I am getting out of Free China (as you can tell by my handle) and going to Russia. After being here for more than two years I have come to realize that Eastern Europe interests me more than Asia. After getting the Russian language down I will enter a Ph.D. program in Eastern European History.

I am probably in a minority with my reasons, but thought I would indulge you and give an answer.

I’m a teacher of immigrant students in the US. It’s a fairly interesting job with the summers off, but I wish I had chosen something more intellectually stimulating. There are tons of highly qualified Chinese in the US who speak great English, so I don’t know that your level of Chinese is really going to help you. It may help in a peripheral way, but beings as I’m not crazy happy about my career choice, I’m not going to give career advice.

I started out teaching in Taiwan, but after 3 years realized that I didn’t want to do that forever and had no marketable skill to bring back to the US. I had a background in science, so when I saw an position for a medical editor I jumped at it. This was perfect for me, because I wasn’t quite ready to leave Taiwan and wanted to learn a skill I could market anywhere. I returned to the US after editing in Taiwan for several years, and didn’t have any problem finding work. Of course, I miss Taipei for some strange reason.