Avoiding bank wire transfer hassles?

I work as a freelancer, and a couple of times per month I receive wire transfers to my US bank account from various clients in various amounts from US$100 on the low end to US$7000 on the high end.

I now find myself in Taiwan. I was planning on opening a bank account in Taiwan and having clients wire me money here, until I read posts on this forum about the hassles of bank wire transfers. For example, I read that every time you receive a wire transfer, the bank will phone you to “confirm” the transfer before releasing the money, and in some cases you have to explain the reason for the wire transfer.

I don’t speak Chinese and would prefer to not have to explain myself every time I receive a wire transfer. Have any other freelancers figured out a way to receive wire transfers hassle-free? Any advice would be most appreciated!

Don’t think there’s a way around it with local banks, and it’s not practical for small amounts because of wire fees anyway.

Just keep receiving in your us account, then withdraw from ATM or wire a bigger amount from time to time.

If you’re here for a short time, I don’t think a local account is worth it.

Would be curious how you intend to deal with taxes. Seems like such a headache to get right.

Maybe just keep it in your US bank and bring it back to Taiwan. Just fill out the US customs form if it’s over 10,000 USD.

Is PayPal still in Taiwan? If yes, you could link your account to your PayPal account and move it like that.

Hi,

Important threshold to care about: TWD 500,000. If your inbound transfers are above this amount, you basically can’t escape a visit to the branch to sign/stamp a form (bring ID).

Below that, it depends on your bank. Your relationship with your bank is important in Taiwan. Aim to get to know the people who are processing your transactions (most likely staff at the branch where you open the account), and treat them well they can help tailor service to you.